What a Wonderful World

9/23/2014  Blog Post #5

Fast dates: September 14th through October 13th

I see trees of green, red roses too.

I see them bloom, for me and you.

And I think to myself, what a wonderful world.

I see skies of blue, And clouds of white.

The bright blessed day, The dark sacred night.

And I think to myself, What a wonderful world.

A life without yeasty paws…..what a wonderful world!  Yes, I think to myself what a wonderful world!

So life here has greatly improved. The paw licking ceased on day 4 and has not re-appeared. All the reddish brown yeastiness has disappeared from Levi’s paws and this is only day 10 of the fast. His face is almost 100% back to his beautiful pure white. Seeing is believing- and I am now and considering a second career of goat farming. Can you see it? Me in over-alls, boots and a straw hat surrounded by boxers, english bulldogs and goats? Who knew those cute little faces contained one of nature’s miracles?

I know that many of you reading this post were not able to participate in the presentation by Jacqueline Hill of Answers Pet Food at Carolina Pet Pantry. The presentation that got all this started. I have asked Jacqueline to construct a write-up of that presentation for me to post to this blog soon. I do not want to mince her words so I know information from her with her background as a microbiologist will help many of you understand why I jumped on the “goat’s milk” bandwagon.

A friend of mine foster failed with a boxer with mast cell tumors. He had surgery to remove some, but not all could be surgically removed. After, she began making a long drive out of state to a holistic veterinarian in Virginia to treat him. The remedies devised by this veterinarian did help shrink the remaining MCT’s. Recently she was starting to some growth coming back. In one of our random doggie conversations we discussed this diet. I mentioned one of the many things fermented raw goat’s milk can help with is reducing MCT’s. Today she took her “Orwell” in for a visit and the holistic veterinarian felt this would be a “awesome” supplement for his diet. So very soon, another smushy faced boy will learn the benefits this can have, whether in a complete fast or added as supplement. My friend also mentioned her holistic vet said he was treating a 2 month old foal in NC who had poked his eye on a nail. He told the owner to treat the eye directly with raw (not fermented) goat’s milk. Not only did the eye heal but the foal can now see shadows from the eye. I think that is pretty impressive.

I also had a conversation with my friend Victoria at 4 Paws Holistic in Charlotte, NC. She said they too recommend the milk for yeasty dogs and allergies. She mentioned she has one customer who gives it to her dog with seizures and that it is the only thing that prevents them. Without the milk the dog has to be on prescription medication. She also suggested that I look at the Steve’s brand raw food with Levi because they add goat’s milk to their raw and it does not contain a lot of synthetic vitamins which can be problematic for some dogs.

I am starting to feel like Answers Pet Food needs to issue me an employee badge as much as I have been talking about their products lately. I am just amazed at the difference I see in my Levi already. Let this serve as a reminder to you that if possible shopping at a “boutique” pet store instead of a big boxed store can truly be the difference between finding a solution to issues and not. If you go into a Pet Smart, Tractor Supply etc…. you are not going to find someone who can speak to articulately about products. Boutique pet stores have private owners who have made nutrition their passion. Courtney, the owner of Carolina Pet Pantry is also the President of Bullies 2 the Rescue which is our NC english bulldog rescue. She lives and breathes allergies everyday. It truly is her life’s mission to devise diet plans to help these dogs and the kind of person you want giving you advice. Victoria at 4 Paws Holistic is a raw food feeder herself and knows more information about raw feeding that anyone I know. Off the cuff she can recite the differences between all the raw food brands. If you have a problematic dog or not I encourage you to shop at one of these stores or a store like them.

So the one thing I am not excited about- the poop. Yes, the poop is still mushy. I guess nothing is perfect. And this is just a fast- not a forever goat’s milk diet. When the fast is over he will go back to his normal raw diet and his solid little raw poops with this milk being added as a daily supplement.

As a reminder, if you click the button at the bottom of the page that says “follow” you will receive an email each time I make a new post. Word press will send you a email with a link you will have to click on to confirm you want to follow.

Leave a Reply

