Because I am Happy

10/2/2014  Blog Post #6

Fast dates: September 14th through October 13th

It might seem crazy what I’m about to say

Clear skin she’s here, and she is here to stay

I’m a chunky bullie that could fly to space

With my new skin, like I don’t care baby by the way

Because I’m happy

Clap along if you feel like “skin without itchiness”

Because I’m happy

Clap along if you feel like “yeast is just a mess”

Because I’m happy

Clap along if you know “that immune suppressing drugs is not the way”

Because I’m happy

Clap along if you feel like that’s what you wanna do

Here come bad news talking this and that, yeah,

Well, give me all you got, and don’t hold it back, yeah,

Well, I should probably warn you I’ll be just fine, yeah,

No offense to you, don’t waste your time

Here’s why:

Bring me down “all the holistic naysayers”

Can’t nothing Bring me down

My level’s too high

Bring me down “all the holistic naysayers”

Can’t nothing Bring me down
So it is day 19 of Levi’s goat milk fast. What has changed and what is the same? Well Levi still loves the goat’s milk and I still melt when I see him with his goat’s milk chin. I used to think I could find nothing more heartwarming than the faces of a English bulldog- but wait the face of a English bulldog with goat’s milk on his chin- well just priceless.

Levi has still been seemingly relieved of his allergy symptoms since about day 4 of the fast. After Atopica, steroids, antibiotics, and almost two years of allergy shots that somehow stopped being effective relief, this fast has truly been a blessing. The only downside was the poop. Yes, it was orange and gross. He never had gastrointestinal discomfort, no accidents, but his poop was gross. I know because I scoop it every other day since I have 6 dogs under my care. Not fun to scoop orange mushy poop that leaves a residue on your yard after you scoop it. So on day 13 of this fast we made an adjustment. Instead of the 3.5 cartons of only goat’s milk per day I decided to add some raw back into his diet. I know, this is going to interfere with the scientific aspect of this fast. But hey, no one is paying me to do this nor am I getting free product. (In case anyone was wondering!) I am just a bullie mom sharing my experience in the hopes it will help another mom of an allergy baby find a solution for their fur kid.

On day 13, his daily food schedule was changed to the following: a 16 oz carton of Answer’s fermented goat’s milk for breakfast, a half pound of Darwin’s raw duck or turkey for dinner, and a half carton of goat’s milk before bed time. In 24 hours, what happened? Well allergy symptoms remained at bay and his poop retuned to a formed brown poop. Now it is not the regular raw food poop I am used but more like middle ground between kibble poop and raw poop. Definitely within the range I can be happy with and not want to throw up when I scoop it from the yard.

On day 19, allergy symptoms are still at bay. No licking, nice fleshy toned ears, shedding has decreased (still more than the average bullie) and now poop is at acceptable levels! All is well in Levi’s world which means all is well in my world. If Levi is not happy, then no one is happy in this house.Just ask the other 5 dogs here!

Because I’m happy

Clap along if you feel like “skin without itchiness”

Because I’m happy

Clap along if you feel like “yeast is just a mess”

Because I’m happy

Clap along if you know “that immune suppressing drugs is not the way”

Because I’m happy Clap along if you feel like that’s what you wanna do

As a reminder, if you click the button at the bottom of the page that says “follow” you will receive an email each time I make a new post. Word press will send you a email with a link you will have to click on to confirm you want to follow.

3 thoughts on “Because I am Happy

  1. Great news Natalie. Sounds like the goat’s milk is doing what it’s supposed to do. I have Gabby on raw with goats milk as well and she loves it. Keep up the good work . ❤

    Like

  2. Hi, I am following Levi’s progress report…this is good news. I am so glad to have your information. I started Jock on goats milk and he is now on day 10 I am only now starting to see improvement..at least his back and sides are no longer bright pink, he would one day clear up and
    an hour later a pinkish, red rash, itchy and he would chew and make it worse. Still bites a little but doing better. I use Dermamagic lotion which helps and give him their rescue soap baths. Thank you for sharing. You were an inspiration for me to follow through doing this…and also Jacqueline. By the way he was diagnosed as yeast/fungus/candida.

    Like

Leave a Reply

